Mitsubishi Corporation awards 14 scholarships to UoN students

The Mitsubishi Corporation has awarded 14 University of Nairobi students scholarships through its annual Mitsubishi Corporation International Scholarships Programme. The scholarships presented by the Corporation’s General Manager, Nairobi Liaison Office, Mr. Ichiro Sugane were received by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic Affairs, Prof. Julius Ogeng’o who was representing the Vice-Chancellor.

The selected students, drawn  from the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies as well as the School of Biological Sciences (BSc degree in Environmental Conservation and Natural Resources Management), come from needy backgrounds and have recorded excellent performance in their respective courses.

Mr. Sugane, urged the students to value their education and the support accorded to them.

“We will continue supporting bright and needy students from the University of Nairobi,” announced Mr. Sugane. “I hope that these scholarships will be valuable to the recipients that you will achieve your dreams and make a difference in Kenya. Whenever you see the three diamond Mitsubishi logo, remember the support you received from us.”

In his remarks, Prof. Ogeng’o thanked the Mitsubishi for support it has accorded the University over the years.

“The total number of beneficiaries of this scholarship since its inception is now 124, including the 2018 group. I am happy to note that the number of female students has significantly increased from 28% in 2017 to 50% in 2018,” he said. “To you students who have benefited from this financial support, I urge you to work hard and be good ambassadors in propagating the mission, vision and core values of your University, the University of Nairobi and your sponsor Mitsubishi Corporation who have demonstrated and maintained a very strong collaborative commitment.”

Others who spoke at the event include Prof. Peter K’Obonyo, Deputy Principal, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Academic Registrar, Mr. B.M. Waweru and the Chairman, Department of Geography, Dr. Boniface Wambua.

Download Pdf

Expiry Date: 
Fri, 2019-09-27 (All day)